<< YCBA Home Yale Center for British Art Yale Center for British Art << YCBA Home

YCBA Collections Search

IIIF Actions

The Seraph : a collection of sacred music, suitable to public or private devotion, consisting of the most celebrated psalm and hymn tunes, with selections from the works of Handel, Haydn, Mozart, Pleyel, and favorite English and Italian composers, adapted to words from Milton, Young, Watts, Wesley, Merrick, Cowper, Henry Kirke White, D. Collyer & c. : to which are added many original pieces / composed and the whole arranged for four voices, with and accompaniment for the pianoforte or organ and violincello by John Whitaker.

London : Button, Whitaker, [1818]
Physical Description:
2 v. ; 26 cm.
Rare Books and Manuscripts
M2136 S43 1818
Yale Center for British Art, Gift of Charles Ryskamp
View by request in the Study Room [Request]
Note: The Study Room is open by appointment. Please visit the Study Room page on our website for more details.

Copyright Status:
Copyright Not Evaluated
Music (printed)
MUS: Imperfect set: all after v. 1, no. 1 wanting.
MUS: Bound with Psalms, hymns & anthems used in the chapel of the Hospital for the maintenance & education of exposed & deserted young children. [London] 1774.
BAC: British Art Center copy bound 2 v. in 1. Title page of v. 2 after William Blake.
Subject Terms:
Button, Whitaker and Compf -- Printer.
Choruses, Sacred (Mixed voices) with piano.
Engraving -- Specimens -- [1818].
Hymns, English.
Mylton, Charlotte Henrietta Avorrinor -- Autograph.
Whitaker, John, 1776-1847.
Blake, William, 1757-1827.

If you have information about this object that may be of assistance please contact us.